Shorts! 2013

Franklin & Friends One Act Play Festival

Another huge success for the Franklin and Friends One Act Play Festival that took place in April 2013. Awesome performances all round, great sets and lighting, brilliant direction… the talent just keeps getting better each year! Thanks to everyone for taking part, whether on stage or behind the scenes. We’re already looking forward to 2014!

Special thanks to our volunteer adjudicators, Darryl Moss, Staci Lyons and Graham Shirley – your time and input is valued and very much appreciated by all.

Border Collie Rescue

Jimmy from Border Collie Rescue says Thank You! Woof!

For this production, we chose to support Border Collie Rescue and we managed to raise R3,000 for this amazing cause! Thank you to each and every person who made a donation. Jimmy wrote a little thank you note which can be found here. If you would like to find out how you can help Border Collie Rescue, please visit





Best Actor : Spencer Ross Rowley
Best Supporting Actor : Mervin Lowe

Best Actress : Traci Scerri
Best Supporting Actress : Kathy Clayton

Best Play : Caught in the Act
Best Director : Mark Paps

Best Script : The Ending
Best Set : The Wine Steward

Best Newcomer : Rory Stradling
Best Novice Actor : Philip Michael Smedmor

Best Novice Director : Nj Hourquebie
Best Cameo : Kenyon MacMurray

Best Music : Strip me to the bone
Best Lighting : Grim Affairs

Best Ensemble : The Wine Steward
Best Solo Performance : Spencer Ross Rowley


Best Play : The Ending
Best Play : The Wine Steward
Best Play : The Basement

Best Actor : Wolfgang Schröder
Best Actress : Alexandra Hattingh
Best Novice Male : Chrysos Daneel
Best Novice Female : Carri Lyons



Any Final Request Judge Heartfelt The EndingStrip Me To The Bone Appointment With God The Basement Grim Affairs Caught In The Act The Wine Steward



Festival Producer : Tamara Allkins
Stage Manager : Carri Lyons
Lighting : Chris Esterhuyse
Sound : Dylan Moss
Front of House : Wendy Brehm and Els de Bundel
Tuckshop : Tamara Allkins, Mark Vosloo, Marlize Nelson, Anthony Vosloo, Caylee Harmann, Steven Vosloo


One thought on “Shorts! 2013

  1. Pingback: Best of Shorts! 2013 | Franklin Players

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *